What about Sarcasm?

5 Apr

With all the Bible teaches us about using gracious words “seasoned with salt,” what are we to conclude about our modern love affair with sarcasm?

 

No, I am not about to be a wet blanket in that arena.  First, it wouldn’t work.  Sarcasm will continue, no matter what I say.  Secondly, my husband and I think sarcasm is one of the love languages!!!  As long as everyone understands it for what it is . . .  🙂

 

In that vein, what would be the point of using sarcasm on a stranger?  There wouldn’t be one, right?  I mean, why waste good sarcasm on someone who might not get it?

 

That segues into a funny story from the other day.  I answered a call on my cellphone from a “blocked” number.  My first mistake.  If you won’t let me see your number, I don’t need to take your call . . .

 

The woman on the other end asked for a person, let’s say, Susan Anderson.  I assured her she had a wrong number.  

 

She said, “Are you sure?  Can you check around and see whether there is a Susan Anderson there?”  

 

Now those of you who know me, even a little bit, know that my husband is a Brit and that I have a lifelong love affair with precise language so you won’t be surprised to hear that I responded, slowly and determinedly, with, “I can definitively reassure you that this is my private cell phone and that no Susan Anderson shares my plan with me.” That is how I talk, right?  

 

She countered with, “What are you, a smart a$$?”

 

I said, “You owe me an apology before you hang up,” then as she started to protest that I owed *her* an apology, I just hit disengage.  

 

Hilarious, but pretty sad.  

 

Our words matter.  Jesus made that pretty apparent in Matthew 12.  But, even above that, God chose words to be His medium for creating the universe (all except man and the animals, which were formed from the ground).  I take seriously my stewardship of what issues from my mouth (and my keyboard).  

 

Sarcasm can grant life (as it pokes fun at ourselves and at our foibles) or it can reduce someone else to a quivering mass of sobs as she realizes we used sarcasm to create an “in group” and a group of outsiders and  . . . she is in the latter.  

 

I suppose since I have always been a “words” person, I realized at a pretty young age that I could easily use my words to destroy someone else emotionally, should I choose to do so.  

 

So far, I don’t think I have ever done that.  May I never, ever consider that, with God helping me to use my words for life only.Image

Leave a Reply

