When People Hate Their Facebook Movies

5 Feb

I had a revelation today.  For every innovation that brings joy to the hearts of some people, there are some folks who greet that innovation with dread, sadness, or indifference.

This is the month of February after all.  I should have known.  Southern Living tells a tale of chocolate hearts delivered to secret crushes back in middle school.  It tells of how some girls got 20 chocolate hearts but most got none.  Life is unfair like that.

And the Facebook movies this week have reinforced that aspect of life.

I rejoiced at mine, as it highlighted my three most visible posts, when my special needs son got his college acceptance letter, when we departed to drive him to college six states away, and when he found his best friend there (a huge development for him).  

I rejoiced at the movies of friends whose children I have watched grow since babyhood.  I shed nearly as many tears of joy at some of those as at my own.

Then I found out that some friends were immensely sad or disappointed in their movies.  Since Facebook made them up, they could not be changed.  And that brought dissatisfaction to a handful of people whom I know.  

Odd, isn’t it?  On the one hand, I am joyful.  On the other hand, some of my friends are downright sad.  Or indifferent.

Life is indeed like that.  It can be unfair.

But Facebook has also only been widely available to the public for about six years.  For people my age, that is six random years of a 55-year lifetime. Some have suffered reverses in those six years.  Unemployment, disability, disease.  Problems with spouses or adult children.  

It is vastly unfair to judge an entire lifetime by its most recent six years.

So some are sad because they don’t like the random look at six years of their lives.

And some of us rejoice, as the last six years have contained joyful moments.  Maybe some sorrow, too, but joyful moments that show up in our Facebook movie.  

I am glad Facebook made the movies.  They are largely lovely.  But I appreciate the diversity of reactions to them, too.   

Leave a Reply

