Book #66: The Day Of The Locust

22 Jan

This is an interesting take on a book I could not bring myself to finish reading in high school (my literature teacher loaned it to me and I gave up because it was depressing in a perverse sort of way).

101 Books

I’m tired of reading books about depressed, alcoholic, hopeless twenty-somethings.

I’m just tired of it, man.

I get it. I really do. Your 20s is probably the most volatile, unpredictable decade of your life. It’s a time period that’s easy to write about because it connects with so many people.

We’ve all been there trying to figure out what to do with our lives, trying to figure out what that girl we like is thinking, trying to figure out if we really hate our job enough to quit and pursue something new. For some people, trying not to be drunk all the time.

So I understand why authors like Nathanael West feel led to write about this time period. And I understand why Hemingway wrote about it in The Sun Also Rises or Malcolm Lowry in Under The Volcano or Jack Kerouac in On The Road. But when you put all…

View original post 711 more words

Leave a Reply

