What Price Would I Charge for My Integrity?

12 Jul

I bought my husband a super-soft throw for his last birthday.  Since December, it has migrated from his Lazyboy to our bed and has sort of become my cherished “lovey.”  

In fact, every night when I am home (and, despite frequent travel, my favorite place of all to be is home in my own warm, comfortable bed), I pull that silky throw up to my face and go to sleep with comfort flooding my soul.

So it occurs to me, as I read of various people in extremis over the ages, that people sometimes voluntarily choose to be separated from their “loveys” and from their comfortable beds.

Some do that for political reasons, like Nelson Mandela when he went to prison.

Some do it for religious reasons, like Jim Elliott and his four friends when they gave their lives in missionary outreach in Ecuador in the 1950’s.  Sure, they were executed, but they didn’t know in advance that would happen.  They could have been held prisoner for the gospel, too, like the Apostle Paul was.

And some do it for confused, conflicted reasons, like Edward Snowden, who can’t seem to decide whether to go into asylum or to prison; whether to be a whistleblower who points out corruption in our system or a spy who gives that system to the Chinese and/or Russians.

All those thoughts lead me to wonder at what point I would separate myself from my creature comforts to stand up for a cause with integrity.  

Would I unwaveringly stand for my Christian faith if it were regarded as a jailable offense?

Would I stand for the Constitution if the very forces governing our land trampled it underfoot and jailed the political opposition?

Hard questions and questions to which I don’t believe we can know the answer in advance . . .

They say that many “millennials” will openly confess there is no cause that would ever separate them from their homes and families–nothing greater than their family unit for which they would suffer imprisonment or death.  That’s honest.

Yet I remember reading that Caspar ten Boom, Corrie ten Boom’s father, was offered the chance to “die in your bed, old man” if he only confessed to the crime of harboring Jews in his house in the Nazi-occupied Netherlands.  His family had been caught in the act and he was being given a chance to stay at home as they went to prison, a chance to die with his “loveys” in his comfortable bed.  He passed on that opportunity and died in a prison camp several weeks later.

What price would I charge for my integrity?  I hope nothing would buy it in the end . . . 

Leave a Reply

