His Thoughts Are Greater

4 Apr

I wrote this for our church blog–it ran yesterday. One of the sweetest, most poignant of Joey stories! God is good.

Tabernacle for Today

4667.jpgIsaiah 55:8, “For my thoughts [are] not your thoughts, neither [are] your ways my ways, saith the LORD.”

Once when our son was eleven years old, our family went out with our former choir director and his wife to see a school musical.  It was West Side Story and it was held in the auditorium of a local public high school.

Now our son has high functioning autism, which is a communication disorder.  He had been to plays with me before, when our homeschooling group took in various children’s productions.  But this was probably his first play where the audience was mainly adults.

Such is the nature of our son’s disability that I always think I have adequately prepared him for something new . . . and often find out I have not!

After the play ended, Joey was inconsolable, which is unusual for him.  He is not a crier.

I gave him a hug and asked what…

View original post 258 more words

Leave a Reply

