Is Your God Like the Greek and Roman Gods?

7 Mar

Proverbs 1:23-31, “Turn you at my reproof: behold, I will pour out my spirit unto you, I will make known my words unto you.  Because I have called, and ye refused; I have stretched out my hand, and no man regarded; But ye have set at nought all my counsel, and would none of my reproof:  I also will laugh at your calamity; I will mock when your fear cometh; When your fear cometh as desolation, and your destruction cometh as a whirlwind; when distress and anguish cometh upon you.  Then shall they call upon me, but I will not answer; they shall seek me early, but they shall not find me:  For that they hated knowledge, and did not choose the fear of the LORD: They would none of my counsel: they despised all my reproof.  Therefore shall they eat of the fruit of their own way, and be filled with their own devices.”

This passage shows the natural consequences of a life devoted to doing things one’s own way.  The last line sums it all up.  The people who live this way are “filled with their own devices” (and that is not a good thing).

How often is this passage used in an imprecatory way by Christians at odds with other Christians, wanting to call down God’s judgment on them?

There are at least two problems with that.  

First, how can we be sure, in a disagreement within the Body of Christ, that we are on the right side of the action?  Our first hint that we are holding on to righteousness in the midst of disagreement is that we are not looking to disenfranchise those with whom we disagree from the Kingdom of God.  Call them to repentance, perhaps (after looking into our own hearts to make sure we don’t similarly have things for which to repent).  Disenfranchise them and talk them out of their salvation . . . never!

Secondly, taking this section of Proverbs as an example of God wreaking havoc by way of His judgment makes us paint a picture of human judgment (i.e., judgment that is badly out of balance), rather than an accurate picture of God’s judgment.  God’s judgment is righteous and neither wreaks havoc nor goes out of balance.

I believe God’s judgment is so far beyond our comprehension as humans that I cannot even begin to describe it accurately, but I am sure God’s judgment will be nothing like our petty judgments of others.  

We do err gravely when we present God as though He were kin to the Greek and Roman gods, brooding, angry, malevolent, and vindictive.  

He will judge, yes, but He will do it His way, not man’s way.  

Glory to His Holy Name!

Leave a Reply

