Thinking Aloud . . . An Update on Blogging!

22 Jan

I was thinking about these past six months of blogging.  I love it and want to do it forever.  It is the best job I have never been paid for!

I thought also about the fact that blogs can’t always be upbeat.  Well, they can, but would anyone seriously believe I could be Mary Poppins 24/7 for 365 days a year?  Say “no”!!!

Note:  My first set of military orders was in a squadron where they honestly did call me Mary Poppins for much of three years, but that is another story . . . ha!

So, when we venture carefully onto the less than pleasant topics, how do we keep from slamming living people?  

It is good to be general in those posts.  

But sometimes we have a specific example that is very instructive.  If we write it without the names.  

For that, I attempt to wait a long period of time before I say anything.  So long that the person would perhaps have forgotten the details.  Since my blog is available worldwide and all . . . (there is no way of guaranteeing that the person of whom I am writing would not see the post).   

But, if that person were to ever see the post and recognize himself, I would assume that that falls within God’s sovereignty and I would deal with it however I had to at the time.

You see, I am realizing one thing about Facebook and blogs as tools of our faith in Christ.  

We are all inconsistent sometimes.  We can be inconsistent in doctrine.  We can have good doctrine but be inconsistent in practice.  

When we are inconsistent, it is loving for people to point out the inconsistency.  Not necessarily to our faces.  Not even necessarily for us.  But, using us as a teaching point for others can work very well.  It guards the dignity of the person who has done something while letting others learn from it.  

If not, how could we ever talk about sin as anything other than a vague concept?  How could we teach on it within the Body of Christ if we could not cite actual things we have seen in our lives and hold them up to the light of God’s Word to show why they were wrong?

Oh, I believe it is so kind to comment on things that are wrong.  We as the Body of Christ do need to take a stand sometimes.  Not on every little thing (nitpicking).  Not on things that are personal preferences (I don’t like seeing people lick their fingers).  But on things that are clearly sin, it is truly kind to speak out sometimes. 

We need to do this kindly, aware of our own frailties, but we need to do this.  

Otherwise the church just goes on making the same mistakes again and again.  World without end.  Amen!

When I started Iconobaptist, I said I would be commenting on some of the things that are mistaken in our faith.  I have done just that, and by God’s grace I will continue to do it.

Some of the best times I have had have been discussing the posts with others after they were written.  I have had a few comments on-line, but many more in person.  And that is the place where I, too, get to learn and grow.  

This blog is very worthwhile for me.  I hope it is for you, too. 

Leave a Reply

