He Has Overcome the World . . . (And He Can Lead Me as a Mother . . . )

11 Jan

John 16:33, “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

Just a thought!  We all have an area where faith comes with difficulty, if at all.  The place where we say, “Lord, I believe, help Thou mine unbelief.”

Mine comes, ironically, when I am trying to finish my lesson before Bible study and my son is trying to get help (once again) to find his book so he can do his lesson (why didn’t he look for it while I was at work???).  The more anxious he gets and the more he cycles into his OCD pattern of repeating the same questions over and over (but, of course, expecting them to be answered each and every time), the more I ratchet up.  “Lord, don’t you know I am trying to read Your Word here?  Why is real life intruding like that?  Is there nothing that can stop that OCD spiral, ever???”

I have tried reminding my son quietly that “I don’t live in your OCD Land and I am not going to answer your repetitive questions” several times to no avail.  Eventually I yell at him, just to get the OCD spiral to stop.  Because, of course, by now I am nervous, too.  Nervous that if he won’t stop making noise, I won’t get my lesson done either.  Just great!

And it is here that God breaks into the pious little Bible study that I am holding without Him (and not even noticing . . .).  No, I don’t have to answer repetitive questions.  That is not good for anyone.  But I do have to stop yelling at my child.  Especially when I am trying to shut him down so I can read the Bible.

Ohhhh, God has it all under control.  I can’t see where His fingers invisibly hold everything, even OCD, but I can trust that He has it all under control because that is Who He is.  And I can return to my lesson, aware that the point of it all is to be with my God and to learn of Him . . .

Leave a Reply

