Accepting God’s Grace . . . (A Simple Example)

5 Jan

Galatians 2:21, “I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness [come] by the law, then Christ is dead in vain.”

It is now January 5, just by less than half an hour, and I will be getting up in about five and a half hours to go to my first Weight Watchers meeting of the new year.

It is also the start of my Weight Watchers week.  How did I do with my resolution to work out three times a week this year?

Well, we walked on the beach for almost an hour on New Year’s Day as a family and I hit the elliptical at the gym today and . . .

Oops, that was only two times this week.  But the new year started on Tuesday.  So I have only had four days in 2013 so far, and have just rolled over to a new Weight Watchers week.

If I were the legalist I once was, I would now despair and give up on my resolution because I didn’t make my third weekly workout.

Or I would have forced myself to work out twice today, both before and after dinner.

I am glad I am becoming less the legalist.  It is really okay to not have made three workouts this week.  It would even be okay next week.  It is only a goal, after all.

I pray I will make my goal, but I am also learning that life intrudes and we need to be a little less legalistic sometimes, realizing that we have done the best we could!!!

God is merciful with us, after all.

Amen!

Leave a Reply

