Just a Thought!

28 Dec

Psalm 138:7, 8:  “Though I walk in the midst of trouble, thou wilt revive me: thou shalt stretch forth thine hand against the wrath of mine enemies, and thy right hand shall save me.  The LORD will perfect [that which] concerneth me: thy mercy, O LORD, [endureth] for ever: forsake not the works of thine own hands.”

How often do I (we) assume that because I have created a bad situation myself, the Lord is not there in it with me?  

As though He will only help us when we are blameless.  As though we ever could be completely blameless in any situation . . .

Look at the lack of qualifiers in those verses.  The Lord says He is with us in our struggles.  Even if we have done something offensive ourselves and made someone into an enemy who didn’t need to be an enemy . . . There are no qualifiers in that sentence.  It says God is with us, full stop.  

I need to stop inserting qualifiers myself.  I tell myself, “I got myself into this–now it is up to me to get myself out.”  That is totally unbiblical thinking.  We think that some things we do are tainted by sin and others are not.  We think that God turns away from the actions that are tainted by sin.

Fact is, and let’s be totally honest here, everything we do and will do until we go to heaven is tainted by sin in some way.  We never have a totally pure motive while we are in the flesh.  If God waited for us to be totally selfless before He would help us, He would be waiting a long, long time.  Till eternity actually. 

A former pastor of mine says “God writes straight with a crooked stick.”  This man’s email account (and every other account he has, including his ministry name) is called “The Crooked Stick.”  I love that.  It reminds us to assume our proper place as forgiven sinners before God.  Forgiven sinners who are loved beyond all comprehension and helped on a daily basis to get out of our messes.  Even the self-inflicted ones!!! 

Leave a Reply

