My World is Full of Purehearted People

21 Dec

Matthew 5:8, “Blessed [are] the pure in heart: for they shall see God.”

When my special needs son Joey was about ten, I was teaching him about charity at Christmastime by giving him a dollar whenever we saw a Salvation Army kettle (at least whenever I was carrying cash, ha ha!).

One day, as we departed from our local Farm Fresh (grocery store), I gave him a dollar and he rushed over to put it in the now-familiar red kettle.  The stocky, red-faced bellringer looked down at my son, who was obviously pleased with himself, and decided to play along, giving him some encouragement.

She smiled broadly and said, “Jesus seen what you did, young man.  Jesus seen that.”

Joey, totally content with his life and His Saviour, who had just seen him doing a good work, returned to my side.

Leave a Reply

