“Sorry, I Like Her . . .”

19 Dec

I Corinthians 13:4, “Charity suffereth long, [and] is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,”

One of my guiding principles in friendship was learned as an early teen, not from the Bible, but from a teen magazine.

Yet that magazine spoke truth and gave me a principle I can find right there in I Corinthians 13, over and over again.  

It was the way to defuse a gossip session, or a time of disparagement behind a friend’s back.

You simply answer the first criticism of that person with “Sorry, I like her.”  Then change the subject.  Repeat as necessary.

This statement may not guarantee you win friends (you may have fewer friends when you use it, but the ones you do have will be true, loyal friends), but it will guarantee you influence people.  Most people are stunned when someone is that unswervingly loyal to their friends, consistently, even when given the opportunity to criticize them behind their backs.

I have many areas in which the Lord is working on me or will work on me later (one thing at a time, right???), but ever since my early teen years, I have never been accused of being a disloyal friend, except by people who did it in a fit of anger and could be proven wrong by a long laundry list of ways I stood behind them.  

It is indeed a good thing to be the friend we would want to have. 

 

Leave a Reply

