On the Road Again: Santa Barbara, California

11 Nov

Ecc 3:11 “He hath made every [thing] beautiful in his time: also he hath set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end.”

Today I spent Veterans’ Day, my holiday as a retired naval officer, having a day off from the 12 hour days we have been working out in Oxnard, California this week.

And what a day it was! One other woman works with me on an otherwise all male team. We took her rental car to Santa Barbara, an hour up the coast.

Until today, the most beautiful place I had ever seen was Bermuda, when I was stationed there for six months, back in 1985.

I never thought Bermuda would be replaced as my definition of beauty, but Santa Barbara surprised me with that kind of joy that only comes when you are completely in the moment, that perfect moment, totally unaware that there is any past nor any future. My day was filled with moments like that!

At one moment, I stood looking at the mountains, in front of me, with the old Santa Barbara Mission, from the same timeframe when the U.S. was gaining its independence, on my left. The sea was to my right. I could stand on the picnic lawn before the mission and turn 360 degrees, with each view more beautiful than the last!

Perfection! God’s creation doesn’t get any better than that–looking at the mountains and the sea at the same moment.

Just then, a formation of six World War II era aircraft flew right over us, with five more in formation behind them. I guess it was a display from a nearby airshow. I took it as a hug from God! I mean, it was already a perfect day, then that happened!

Sometimes God shouts His love and His perfection!

Before the mission, we had toured the zoo, with its stunning views of mountains and sea. They had three giraffes, my favorite animal of all.

After the mission, we found a nearby sandwich shop where we could eat out in the sunshine.

We then drove down State Street to the ocean. That is the longest, nicest shopping street I have ever seen. We must go back, on our next trip!

Rather than windowshop this time, we chose to walk the wharf in Santa Barbara, looking at the restaurants and shops there. I bought candy for my honorary grandkids.

We finished up by strolling through some of the art show that lined about two miles of the oceanfront.

We walked about two and a half hours, all told. And my eyes nearly hurt from so much beauty. I will put up some pictures when I get home!

Leave a Reply

