Intentional Living

1 Nov

Psalm 90:12, “So teach [us] to number our days, that we may apply [our] hearts unto wisdom.”

There is a phrase that the secular world has used since the new millennium began that I love very much.  It is the phrase “intentional living.”

If secularism can make good use of that phrase, we Christians can make even better use of it.

It means living with our eyes upon the immense freedom we have to make decisions, for good or for evil.

It means understanding when we choose one thing, we leave behind other alternatives that were not chosen.

It means realizing that every path is the sum result of the many decisions it took to get there.

It means realizing that we are responsible for our own decisions, before God, and not a helpless victim of everybody else around us.

It means taking responsibility for our own lives and not blaming others for everything that happens in them.

It even means realizing that, for those in Christ, everything that happens is meant to work out for good, so we might as well not label so many things as bad anyway!  Until we get to the last page, we don’t know why God allowed that event, so maybe we don’t need to put such a negative spin on it.

(Disclaimer:  that is not being an apologist for evil.  I do agree that evil exists in this world.  But I also believe God can work out His good purposes in anything).

The longer I live, the more I am drawn to intentional living in Christ.

It seems that I become more and more aware that God has given us immense freedom and lots of choices, but that the best choices reflect back to Him.

It also seems that intentional living teaches me to keep my eyes on Jesus, not on others (blaming them) or on myself (navel gazing).

It truly frees me of judgment toward others because I have so many things to decide in my own life I really don’t have time to second guess the decisions of others.

And that, too, is freedom.

 

 

2 Responses to “Intentional Living”

  1. Sam Allgood November 1, 2012 at 1:11 PM #

    Another area this is overlooked by most Christians is intentional discipling. While some discipling does happen just as a result of living according to Biblical principles and ‘letting our light shine’, I see very few Christians, even clergy, making personal investment in the lives of people around them. As my former pastor likes to say, “Real ministry happens face-to-face and heart-to-heart.” To learn more about some resources for doing this, visit my blog at http://discipling1to1.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

