Weight Watchers Update

3 Oct

I Corinthians 10:31, “Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.”

I have now been on Weight Watchers since January 1, 2012, which is nine months.  I have kept the program fairly rigidly, using my weekly (bonus) points only sparingly, every once in a while.  I have tried to keep to my daily points, even as they have dropped from 36 to 26 (the lowest they will ever go).

I have lost between 83 and 88 pounds, depending on whether we are looking at the official Weight Watchers record or the one my scale tells (Weight Watchers was not open on New Year’s Day so I waited almost a week to weigh in.  By then, about five pounds were off).

Fact is, I love to speak of grace in my Christian walk, but Weight Watchers is all law.  They have done the scientific research for about 50 years to be able to give us a plan that works, if we follow it.

It is a very flexible plan, with lots of choices, but follow it we must if we wish to lose weight.

Fact is, I have been a paying member of Weight Watchers for around eight years and have, only once previously, lost a significant amount of weight, which I regained, with even more weight going on when I had chemotherapy.  The rest of the time, I continued to pay my weekly fee, attending when I was able, and treating the group as a social reference group that gave me tips for healthier eating.

That is not all bad.  And there are any number of people in my Weight Watchers group who are the same.  They come for years, week in and week out, and don’t lose their weight.  There is nothing wrong with just coming for the fellowship and nutrition tips.  It is probably better when we can admit that to ourselves, but I never could at the time.

Fact is, I was respected in my field, even in uniform as a naval officer, when I was overweight.  There was no great pressure to lose the weight, as long as the tape measure for the semiannual physical fitness test said I was within standards.  The standards for the tape measure were pretty lenient for many years.  I understand that they have tightened up since my retirement in 2009.

I was given lots of authority and challenging assignments within every unit I was in.  My opinion was sought on issues affecting the units.  I never felt dismissed by anyone due to my size.  That was good and maybe a bit bad at the same time <smile>!

You see, I don’t think anyone can really lose weight until that person is ready to do so.  They may give lip service to it, as I did, but they don’t own the process.  And it won’t work—Weight Watchers won’t work—until they own the process.

So that is my encouragement to anyone who wants to lose weight.  Weight Watchers works, if you are ready to do it their way.

But it is okay to just attend for the camaraderie and nutrition tips, too.

Life is about choices!

One Response to “Weight Watchers Update”

  1. prettymanster.com November 17, 2012 at 1:25 PM #

    I really like reading through an article that will
    make people think. Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

Leave a Reply

