iEncourage

28 Sep

In conjunction with my post today about not sharing people’s personal thoughts, hopes, dreams, and fears with other people, I add this piece from our church’s blog. I wrote it last year. It is always good to remember to encourage each other.

Tabernacle for Today

“And so I charge thee by the thorny crown,
And by the cross on which the Savior bled,
And by your own soul’s hope for fair renown:
Let something good be said.”

(Old hymn, words by James Whitcomb Riley)

How often do I, as a blood-bought, ransomed child of God remind other believers that that is what they are, too?  How often do I encourage others (which is, by definition, pouring courage into them)?  How often might I do the opposite and be a discourager?
Nobody sets out to discourage others, but the truth is that all of us do it on occasion.  I have to pay attention not just to what I say to others but to the way I say it.  I have a very quick way of speaking that can come across as rather glib, if I am not careful to maintain eye contact and to really…

View original post 235 more words

Leave a Reply

