Christian Friendship: A Refreshing Drink of Water and More

2 Sep

This post, from our church blog, referred to a visit I made to California almost a year ago. I visited the same friend in Ohio just last week, and had exactly the same impressions. As I did visiting friends in Illinois earlier in the week. God is so good to give us lifelong companions in the faith!

Tabernacle for Today

Proverbs 25:25 says:  “As cold waters to a thirsty soul, so is good news from a far country.”
Proverbs 27:17 says:  “Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend.”

I was able to prove the truth of both of those verses this week by a reunion with one of those “iron sharpener” friends out in California.  I was on a business trip and was not sure until the very last few hours that we were going to be able to pull our reunion off, but pull it off we did, as she drove in for more than two hours from the California desert to meet me at my hotel near the Los Angeles Airport.
While I appreciate many things about my friend, several stand out.  We always pray together, we always do a devotional together, sometimes just spontaneously picking up God’s Word and sharing a passage…

View original post 160 more words

Leave a Reply

